2012 NFL Draft: RGIII, Playing For Shanahan A “Dream Come True”

March 28, 2012

Draft


Just another aspect of Robert Griffin’s football career is his love for Mike Shanahan and his Denver Broncos history. In an interview on The SiriusXM Blitz, he was clear when saying that playing for Mike Shanahan would be a “..dream come true..”.

“I mean, you have to give respect where respect is due…So before I even talk about football with them, I just try to express to them that I was a Broncos fan growing up, so Coach Shanahan coached those teams that I watched and that influenced me to play football.

“Would it be a dream come true to play for him? Yes it would.

“But when it comes to just straight football talk, of course we can’t talk about the offense and things like that, but they try to make a point to tell me the kind of things they’re gonna try to do with me You know, they didn’t trade up to the second pick for no reason.”

He was also asked about his meetings with the Colts’ front office…

“You know, most of my interaction happened at the combine,” he said. “A little bit at my pro day, but the Colts is a great organization. Those are outstanding coaches that know what they’re doing, so at the end of the day, if they decide to draft me or Andrew, it’s just the best decision that they felt was for them.

“You know, I don’t mind playing in Indy, I don’t mind playing in Washington, it’s just a matter of what’s the best fit and who really wants you. And we’ll know on draft day, or maybe even before that….In my opinion, for myself, I feel like I can do both systems, but it’s all about having fun and it’s all about winning.”

This looks to me like Robert Griffin is pretty set on coming to Washington. He of course laid the smokescreen “I can play both systems” argument, but his comment:

“…but they try to make a point to tell me the kind of things they’re gonna try to do with me You know, they didn’t trade up to the second pick for no reason.”

..makes me believe that the Redskins aren’t as interested in Andrew Luck (until we see some reporting like this coming out of Luck’s mouth), and have a lot of love for the sock afficionado quarterback.

You can check out the full audio here.

Follow me on Twitter: @ArmyRedskin

You can also catch other articles of mine on HogsHaven.com.

 

Hail

 

 

, , , , ,

About Ronnie Adkins

Founder: The Burgundy Warpath http://theburgundywarpath.com Feature Author: Hogs Haven http://hogshaven.com

View all posts by Ronnie Adkins

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Redskins Offseason: Mike Shanahan Speaks About Cap Penalty, Offseason Injuries, and Peyton Manning | The Burgundy Warpath - March 29, 2012

    […] 2012 NFL Draft: RGIII, Playing For Shanahan A “Dream Come True” (theburgundywarpath.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. 2012 NFL Draft, Andrew Luck, Jammal Brown, London Fletcher, Peyton Manning, Rich Campbell, Robert Griffin III, Washington Redskins […]

Leave a Reply

