Landry: Injured…Again

December 2, 2011

Players


While going through the latest injury report, I wasn’t shocked to see LaRon Landry’s name attached with a groin injury. It leads me to wonder whether some of his injuries could possibly be avoided. While searching around for some info on LaRon’s workout routine, I came across an interesting article. Here’s an excerpt:

“Landry trains around the clock…literally. When the Redskins were scheduled to play the Packers on a Sunday afternoon game, he was found working out in his hotel room 13 hours before kickoff.”

It might just be me, but I am pretty sure there are some issues with that. Working out too much increases oxidation of the cellular DNA and RNA, which actually accelerates aging. The basic principle of working out is the tear and re-healing of muscles. LaRon could very well be accelerating himself right into an old-folks home. LaRon missed most of the shortened training camp along with the first two games of the season with an achilles injury. He also sat out week 11 against the Cowboys with achilles soreness. In games he has played, LaRon has averaged 5 tackles per.

Now, don’t get me wrong by all of this. My very first Redskins jersey was a LaRon Landry authentic. I enjoy watching him play the way he does. Cocky and all-out. What I am NOT a fan of, is the mentality that he is playing for himself. He is a playmaker when he is on the field, but he can’t make plays unless he is… on the field.

“I just do what I do,” Landry said. “That makes me feel pumped for the game. It makes me feel swole, you know what I mean, so I go into the game feeling like He-Man.”

Free Agency is getting closer and closer if LaRon isn’t able to stay healthy. He might want to dial it down a little. Even if the Redskins decide not to re-sign Landry in the offseason (which they better), he will still find a home. But he will find a home for a far lesser salary than he’ll want. It would be like giving a half-rotten tomato to a blind person and telling them to bite it. You might get the delicious side, you might not. I would take a smaller, ripe tomato sans a half-rotten one any day..

 

About Ronnie Adkins

Founder: The Burgundy Warpath http://theburgundywarpath.com Feature Author: Hogs Haven http://hogshaven.com

View all posts by Ronnie Adkins

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 14 Redskins Injury Report | The Burgundy Warpath - December 9, 2011

    […] been nice to have him on the field, but this won’t be the first time the ‘Skins are without him. Landry missed most of the offseason as well as four games so far including last week’s loss […]

Leave a Reply

